Tags

, , , ,

I have recently been lucky enough to be asked to write some lyrics for a musical project I am very excited about.. but more of that some other time.

For now I want to share these lyrics that I hope will make a fine song. I’m putting these on this blog because they are that little extra bit more personal.

Three Winter walks

 

Verse One-

 

I fell over you by the frozen lake

You were watching the Moomins

skating on the ice

You picked me up

For politeness sake

And told me some paths

I might like

 

Chorus-

Winter walks

It’s hard to keep my feet

Sun is low and hard

It’s difficult to see

That’s why I’m confused

As to what is best to do

And I’m only ever steady

When I’m standing next to you

 

Verse two-

 

You and John Clare in the meadow

calling up the new

buds through the earth

you brought out the light

from the shadow

and turned my dark mood

into mirth

 

 

Chorus-

Winter walks

It’s hard to keep my feet

Sun is low and hard

It’s difficult to see

That’s why I’m confused

As to what is best to do

And I’m only ever steady

When I’m standing next to you

 

 

Verse three-

 

Meet you by the boathouse with Harry Belafonte

You were dancing

like a lightning storm

I made my move

Your spell was on me

The spring came;

the winter was gone

 

Chorus-

Winter walks

It’s hard to keep my feet

Sun is low and hard

It’s difficult to see

That’s why I’m confused

As to what is best to do

And I’m only ever steady

When I’m standing next to you

 

 

