Tags

, , , , ,

” I know what I am: I am a patient cynic.”- Robert Mitchum

This day last week was Robert Mitchum’s birthday. So here are some words I wrote about the great man. They will at some point be a song I hope.. possibly a Calypso…

Bob

What would Bob Mitchum do? (Advice for the young)

 

 

Chorus-

When somebody threatens to make me work

And they’re turning that old screw

I ask myself

What would Bob Mitchum do?

When you’re standing at the crossroads

Between what is and something new

Ask yourself

What would Bob Mitchum do?

If the problem’s just too foxy

and the answer e-ludes you

Ask yourself

What would Bob Mitchum do?

 

 

Verse 1-

 

It’s not for me to give advice to children leaving school

The world’s big and wide; they haven’t got a clue

You hear a lot of talk

Yeah they really like to squawk

About this and that

And what is best to do

Pensions, houses, marriage… pain

Grit your teeth kids, take the strain

But ask yourselves

What would Bob Mitchum do?

 

Middle Eight- (as if I know what that means)

 

And in this world of stress and fright

We can all learn what is right

If we ask ourselves

What would Bob Mitchum do?

and here’s verse two

 

Verse two-

 

Bob was big and Bob was strong

He never worked for very long

He was happiest with about nothing to do

He made his money

Kept his time

Sure he drank a little wine

Ask yourself

What would bob Mitchum do?

You know it’s true

Ask yourself

What would bob Mitchum do?

